How do I store my patterns?

Today is a slightly different type of post.  Life is busy and it can be tricky to make and photograph things every week.  This week I thought I would share my pattern storage and a couple that I am looking forward to making up in the near future.

IMG_1923

I have collected quite a range of patterns over the last couple of years, including books, magazines and paper or pdf patterns.  I still refer back to Love at First Stitch which was my first introduction to dressmaking, but I have also gathered a few other books as inspiration including From Stitch to Style and Gerties Ultimate Dress Book.

IMG_1921

These folders contain most of my patterns.  They are just A4 popper wallets in various colours.  As my pattern collection has grown, I have definitely needed to get more organised to make it easy to find what I want.  The colour coding is the first part of that.  Different types of clothing are in different coloured wallets and then they are divided up even further into box files.

IMG_1922

The box files were just plain brown cardboard files, but I have used decoupage in pretty coloured papers to make them unique and more attractive.  The labels are just letter stickers.

IMG_1976.JPG

Each envelope just has an ordinary address label stuck on so that I can see which is which without pulling them all out.  Inside is usually the pattern illustration, sizing chart and the pattern pieces themselves.  I don’t usually print the instructions.  They are just kept in a folder on my computer and I use the digital copy as needed to save paper.

IMG_1972

The great thing about the folders is that I can also use them to start collecting notions for a project in, such as zips, buttons or threads.  For smaller patterns like tops, I can even put the cut out fabric in the envelope with the pattern until I am ready to sew with it.

IMG_1971

I do have a couple of other places that patterns get stored.  A few smaller patterns or templates like baby booties, bibs and an eye mask are kept in this ring binder in ordinary plastic wallets.  The patterns in here are mostly single pieces or so small that they don’t need a whole popper wallet to themselves!

Finally, these wicker hampers contain most of my printed patterns, particularly any that come free with magazines.  I think this is one place that I do need to do a bit of a sort out soon, because I think I have some patterns here that I have no intention of using.  Maybe I can find a pattern swap so that they can be of use to someone else.

IMG_1929

I hope you enjoyed that glimpse into my sewing room and perhaps some of the things that are on my to sew list!  Let me know in the comments if you would like more posts about things like this.  How do you store your patterns?

 

6 thoughts on “How do I store my patterns?

  1. auschick says:

    I love this! I’m at a point where I want to change up the way I store mine. They are getting totally out of hand. Right now I have 3 ikea cardboard boxes and I have 2 for kids clothes and one for women’s clothes. I put both my paper and pdf patterns in there, with the pdf’s in yellow envelopes. I recently saw someone have all their patterns in the large ring binder folders with each one in a plastic pocket. I’m thinking about some kind of hybrid – maybe ring folders with clear pocket envelopes like you’re using. Since many of my kids patterns have both pants and tops in them, I think I would still just sort by child/women/men rather than type of clothing.

    Like

    • Naomi Sews says:

      It was a lovely feeling getting them all organised, so I say go for it! I did use ring binders for a while with plastic wallets but they were a bit flimsy. Folders and envelopes might work though. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

